Skip to main content

San Jacinto Valley
Academy

Search

Distance Learning Plan - Middle and High School

Greetings SJVA Students, Parents, Guardians,
(Traducción al español haga clic aquí)

We hope that all is well with you and your family during this time. As you know starting the week of April 20th, we will be transitioning into teaching new material, assigning assignments, and entering those assignments into the grade book for Triad 6. The well being and continued development of each student is important to the SJVA teachers and staff. Providing a continuation of learning will help minimize an achievement gap, keep students engaged, on path for graduation, and prepared for great achievements in the school year to come! While we would never have guessed that this is how the 2019-20 school year would conclude, we recognize and are proud of all the hard work, dedication, and grit demonstrated thus far by SJVA students, parents, guardians, and staff. 

As we transition into this new phase of distance learning, we understand that you may have questions, concerns, or require assistance to effectively complete and support this next phase of distance learning. Please don’t hesitate to contact your teachers, Deans, and/or counseling department. See Aeries Parent Portal, SJVA.net, or below for contact information.

A distance learning plan has been developed to help to provide increased structure, expectations, and support to ensure the success of all students.                                                                        

Distance Learning Plan
Click for Distance Learning Plan Overview

Weekly Schedule

Every Monday, teachers will post the lessons and assignments for the week in their Google Classroom. Assignments and lessons will be due by Sunday evening. Students will have a minimum of one instructional Zoom session for each class per week with optional daily student office hours. Teachers will be available two hours each day (non-instructional days) to answer questions and provide additional support.

Click here for High School Schedule                             Click here for Middle School Schedule

Weekly Assignments

Every Monday, teachers are posting the lessons, assignments, activities for the week in their Google Classroom. All students will have 24 hour and 7 day a week access to Google Classroom. If you are experiencing a problem, please email the teacher and they will assist you in getting access.

Finals Grades

Teachers are responsible for submitting Triad 6 (Semester 2) grades. During Triad 6 the aim is for each student to improve their grade as recorded on the Triad 5 progress report. 

Daily Student Support

SJVA teachers are using Zoom Video Conference to host their “office hours” and instructional sessions. Student safety on the internet is a top priority and procedures have been put in place to increase the safety of all while using Zoom. The Zoom session can be accessed by clicking on the link found in Google Classroom for each class. 

Additional Support

School guidance counselors, Deans, Learning Community Coordinators, tutors, and other staff members are available to provide additional support to help ensure the success of all students.

Access to Technology Devices

If you need a device, you can click on the Technology Device Checkout link below to request a device from the school. Click here for Technology Device Checkout.

 

Internet Connectivity Resources for Parents/Students

SJVA has put together some of the available internet resources provided by various cellular carriers.

 

Comcast: The company is currently offering 60 days of Internet Essentials service. You can find more information on the following link:  https://corporate.comcast.com/covid-19

 

Charter/Spectrum: Spectrum is providing free of charge Internet/WiFi to new families with both K-12 and college students for 60 days. More information about eligibility can be found below:  https://www.spectrum.net/support/internet/covid-19-internet-offer-students/

 

AT&T: The company is currently offering unlimited data to the existing customer and $10/month plans to low-income families. More info can be found on the link below: https://m.att.com/shopmobile/internet/access/

 

T Mobile: The company is currently offering unlimited smartphone data to the existing customer. More info can be found on:
https://www.t-mobile.com/support/account/covid-19-updates

 

*SJVA does not promote any of these carriers. We have gathered this information from the carrier webpages and made it available to you for your convenience. 

Dean and Counselor Contact Information

Middle School Dean – Vlandita Lozano: vlozano@sjacademy.org

Middle School Dean – Amy Handal: ahandal@sjacademy.org

High School Dean – Rebekah Branka: rbranka@sjacademy.org

Secondary Dean of Education – Marissa Espinosa: mespinosa@sjacademy.org

Secondary Dean of Education – Phil Anady: panady@sjacademy.org

Academic Counselor – Maria Magana: mmagana@sjacademy.org

Academic Counselor – Rogelio Romero: rromero@sjacademy.org

International Baccalaureate Dean – Jonathan Harrison: jharrison@sjacademy.org
Visual and Performing Arts Dean – Kira Wegner: kwegner@sjacademy.org

Published Print